The Tiny Garden vs The Squirrels (but mostly the rats)

First thing, my yard is very small so things are close together.  Second thing, I have a low rock bulkhead and rats and mice just love to crawl around in there. Yuck.  I have been trying to keep rodents of all sorts out of my bird feeders but no matter what, I always end up with some loss of food.  Sometimes at night I can hear rustling around the feeder, I turn on the outdoor lights and there is a big rat daring me to come and get him.

squirrelcairoSquirrel lounging on my fence

For the most part, the best feeders have been the tube type with metal feeding holes (to discourage chewing by squirrels).  My current tube feeder is succumbing to the very rainy weather we have and the screws holding the bottom on (which allow me to clean the feeder) are rusty and cannot be removed anymore.  I searched around online the other day and discovered The Bouncer, I purchased it on Amazon.  As you can see in the photos, the perches of the bouncer “fall” when anything heavier than a smallish bird tries to land on it or grab it, there are also nice clips to keep the top secure and it looks fairly rain resistant.  Also take note that the feeder is 6x6x27 inches, rather huge compared to the usual store bought feeders.  Now as you will also see in my photos, I do not have the appropriate post to hang my new feeder on and I think that will allow unwanted guests.  So far I have witnessed a couple Stellar Jays snacking.  Check back later because I have plans to install a post/pole that will foil all those nasty creatures.  I must make a Lowe’s run soon!

birdfeeder10 birdfeedercollage3

One thought on “The Tiny Garden vs The Squirrels (but mostly the rats)

  1. Welcome to the Squirrel Patrol. Here’s wishing you the best in keeping them out of the house and rafters … and out in the wild, where they belong.
    Here’s also wishing you as much amusement watching them at the new feeders as we’ve had.

Leave a Reply

