I Dream of Yard Work

This morning I had a dream that my home was attached to my neighbors home, kind of like a duplex.  In my dream I woke up and saw through the window that the landscapers there were working on all the yards on the street.  Yikes, they spread bark over MY flower beds, what are they doing, noooooo.  I tried to quickly make myself presentable and ran outside to confront them.  They told me they were hired by the association and tough luck, they were doing my yard work now.  I turned to look at the front of my home and this is when I discovered that the two homes were attached AND that they had been painted.  What a horrible dream.  At this point I really did wake up.

I wonder if I had this dream because my son and I were doing yard work yesterday.  My dreams are usually filled with things that have recently happened.  My son and I did lots of weeding, I did some pruning and clean up.  It is now September and things in the garden are winding down.  The bleeding heart is drying up and the clematis are flowered out.  My poor pruners were a bit sticky yesterday so I gave them a scrub and oiled them a bit with WD40, what a difference.  I am a bit ashamed at the abuse I put them through, I know that they should be cleaned often but I am a bit lazy.  I must say though that Fiskars tools are the BEST.

The Tiny Garden was still quite the jungle yesterday.  From the right we have a volunteer fern and Mexican mock orange, on the fence… clematis, jasmine and then my butterfly bush.  For such a little space I do keep it quite crammed with plants.  The bank is covered in creeping thyme with hosta and creeping phlox here and there.  Believe it or not I actually have a “shed” back here somewhere.  I will post about that another time.  Next year I will have to split all the hosta and sell the extra.  I can actually make a few dollars off this tiny garden.

One thought on “I Dream of Yard Work

  1. I know what you mean. I love my garden. I’ve always loved flowers (especially the fluffy kind!) but I’ve only been seriously gardening for a couple of years. But what a difference a couple of years makes! I’m totally hooked and read everything I can get my hands on about gardening. My garden is not suburban typical although that is the kind of neighborhood I live in. But with no home owner covenants and living in the south, I don’t think anyone minds my vernacular garden. Unfortunately, the folks who built my house concreted over nearly all of the backyard. So a most of my gardening gets done in the front. http://www.flickr.com/photos/fluffyflowers/sets/72157629888851743/

    I have an off site, community garden at work where I try to grow veggies. This was the first year and I had ok success. I thought about growing zinnias next year and selling bouquets at the Saturday morning farmer’s market.

Leave a Reply

