New Kids on the Block

My tiny garden does not have much room so I don’t often bring home new plants but I could not resist buying a couple things on my last visit to Flower World in Maltby.

First, I can’t resist the color and texture of this Silver Mound Artemisia.  It is a lovely gray green and feels so soft to the touch and has a light, airy look.  This plant is a perennial and prefers sun to partial shade.  The spot up on the rockery in my back yard should be perfect.  And a little thing I learned about the care of this plant is to not remove the foliage until spring as it acts as winter protectant.

Second, I can never resist a new variety of Hosta.  This El Nino variety was introduced in 2002 but just discovered by me last month.  It is described as having iron-blue (my favorite color) foliage with ivory edges.  In spring the edges emerge yellow and quickly turn to ivory and it sports violet blooms for several weeks.  I look forward to being able to split this hosta and sharing it with others in the next year or two.

This was originally posted on Thursday September 22, 2011.  As of today, both plants are doing great.  The Artemisia has about doubled in size and the hosta is about the same as when I planted it a year ago.

One thought on “New Kids on the Block

Leave a Reply

